National Golden Spur Award Honors

National Golden Spur Award

Recognizing accomplishment by an individual, the National Golden Spur Award is the livestock and ranching industries most prestigious honor. Established in 1978, the annual award has been conferred upon iconic industry leaders whose unparalleled devotion to land and livestock earned them notable respect and admiration by their peers. The award also highlights the humanistic, scientific and technological contributions of the livestock and ranching industries to society.

Golden Spur is historically sponsored and bestowed by six livestock and ranching organizations: American Quarter Horse Association; National Cattleman’s Foundation; Ranching Heritage Association; Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association; Texas Cattle Feeders Association; and Texas Farm Bureau.

The Golden Spur presentation piece, “The Rancher,” was sculpted by Harold Holden and was created exclusively for the purpose of recognizing the National Golden Spur Award recipient.

For detailed information visit

National Golden Spur Award HonorsView Past Award Recipients

Ranching Heritage Association Working Cowboy Award

The Ranching Heritage Association (RHA) developed the RHA Working Cowboy Award in 2018 to recognize outstanding men and women who make their living in the saddle taking care of livestock and the land on a daily basis. It was important to the board to recognize those folks who brave all kinds of weather and conditions to ensure that the work gets done. The board also emphasized the need to recognize the candidate’s integrity, impact on the ranch and community, and overall standards.

Past RHA Working Cowboy Award Recipients:

2023- Jimbo Humphreys, Guitar Ranches | Texas

2022 – Wes O’Neal, Four Sixes Ranch | Texas

2020 – Joel Nelson, Anchor Ranch | Texas

2019 – Ed Ashurst, Ten X Ranch | Arizona

2018 – Boots O’Neal, Four Sixes Ranch | Texas

Do you know an outstanding cowboy or cowgirl that should be recognized?

Submit a nomination for the Ranching Heritage Association Working Cowboy Award.

2024 nominations are due April 1.